stillsc.blogg.se

Macbook usb c sucks hdmi
Macbook usb c sucks hdmi










  1. #Macbook usb c sucks hdmi full#
  2. #Macbook usb c sucks hdmi pro#
  3. #Macbook usb c sucks hdmi mac#
  4. #Macbook usb c sucks hdmi windows#

What's perhaps my favorite subtlety here is that while Dell includes a proprietary charger in the box, you can just plug in any old USB-C charger too! There's a weird side effect to this: I just use my old 15" MacBook Pro's USB-C charger for everything now. There's two old USB ports (USB A), a single USB-C port, a SD-card slot and a HDMI port, making it the perfect compromise between the future as well as the past.

macbook usb c sucks hdmi

One of the delightful, and most impressive, points of the XPS 15 is that it has a place for everything.

#Macbook usb c sucks hdmi full#

While I'm a fan of USB-C and thoroughly look forward to the future where a MacBook that only has USB-C ports makes sense, the experience on the latest generation is dongle central - to the point I started carrying a pencil case full of the damn things.

#Macbook usb c sucks hdmi mac#

It feels backward to not have one now, but I doubt we'll ever really see touch hit the Mac at this point. Much to Fem's frustration, I keep trying to touch her MacBook Pro's screen as a result. I don't actively use it, but when you're on the couch or just need to quickly stab something closed, or open the notification center it's so natural that I struggle with laptops that don't have it now. To my surprise, I actually really enjoy the touch screen on this thing. If you want something subtle with a killer display, this is for you. I think Dell did a great job of keeping the machine relatively simple and clutter-free: it's just a simple silver and black slab of laptop. If you like Retina displays, you'll have your pants blown off by the 4K Ultrasharp model of this thing it's well beyond Retina quality and Dell's displays are killer at color reproduction.

#Macbook usb c sucks hdmi windows#

Unlike many Windows laptops, the XPS 15 is pretty nice looking - a large part of which can be attributed to that lovely 4K 4096 x 3048 ultra-thin bezel display. The XPS is significantly thicker and a tad heavier, but at least I can actually get work done now - and it's a sacrifice I'm willing to make in return for the performance it delivers. It's worth being clear that this comes at the price of thinness which Apple has perfected to a tee and it really shows when you put them side-by side it's a real feat to put a computer in the form factor Apple has pulled off.

#Macbook usb c sucks hdmi pro#

I hadn't realized when actually getting it, but the MacBook Pro is a couple of generations behind on Intel's quad-core chipsets (if you get the 15", that is), which explains why the XPS blew its socks off. I'm not very kind to my machines and usually have windows of Chrome tabs, PHPStorm and a bunch of VMs lying around running for days before realizing. It boots fast, never lags and can handle the majority of games you throw at it without sounding like it's a rocket ready for lift-off.

macbook usb c sucks hdmi

I've found the i7 model to be one hell of a machine that is more than capable of doing everything I need to. It's hard to overstate how awesome it is to have a GTX 1050 onboard and 32 GB of RAM I can do the heavy lifting I need to in PHPStorm, then shift gears and play some Overwatch without actually cleaning up. The XPS I grabbed is the 9560 model, with Intel's quad-core i7 7700HQ processor, 32 GB of RAM and a Nvidia GTX 1050 graphics chip.ĭell delivered on this - and then some. The key reason I shifted away from the MacBook, besides the bullshit port situation (more on that later), was performance.Īpple's refreshed MacBook line was barely on-par with my 2013 MacBook Pro, and I wanted 32 GB of RAM. Trust me - I was a skeptic, but after being asked repeatedly in the comments for my original piece about leaving Apple's hardware, I started looking into it. Here's a quick look at what makes it great, and how Dell has won me over so far. I've been using the XPS for about five months now, and liked it so much I had forgotten to share that I was happy with it.

macbook usb c sucks hdmi

It's been a year since I started my journey switching to Windows, and that's involved trying a bunch of different laptop hardware in pursuit of something that could keep up with the MacBook Pro.įirst, I tried the Razer Blade, then the Eve V and had a passing interest in the Surface Book 2 - but I ultimately ended up delighted by an unlikely laptop I hadn't really considered: Dell's XPS 15.












Macbook usb c sucks hdmi